Thailand
Comments 6

A hidden gem… Asoke Market

Not many people know about the little market behind Asoke’s BTS.

DSC_0319

Bangkok's skytrain, otherwise known as the BTS,
links most places in it's major and most important road -
Sukhumvit.

DSC_0317

Once you exit the skytrain, look for this sign,

And how could you blame them? Smack in the heart of Bangkok’s metropolitan area, only a few minutes walk from designer powerhouses like Fendi and Prada, who would have guessed that a place still existed where you can still get market price produce?

DSC_0307

Everyone knows I go gaga for the green stuff.

For an area that oozes opulence and excess, it’s really unthinkable to imagine that ‘Old Bangkok’ is still alive and kicking.

DSC_0279

The outside looks like your regular, 
run-of-the-mill array of food sellers.

DSC_0295 DSC_0296 DSC_0297

Still not sure where it is?
Hint: it's on the opposite side of the road from the
infamous 'Soi Cowboy', entertainment district.

So much fresh produce is crammed into such a small space, and for the looks of the clientele, it’s a well kept Thai secret.

DSC_0314

They sell only the freshest produce here.

My guide for the day, Paw, told me that a lot of the produce brought in, is sold locally to nearby food sellers and thai restaurants; with the large amount of haulers and buyer, I can see why you’d be led to believe that.

DSC_0313

Cute cats and old ladies! I'm sold.

Next time you’re in Asoke, why don’t you poke your head in and get in on the secret.

6 Comments

  1. I visited this market while I was looking for a coffee shop. It is amazing, like most of the little markets around bkk. Amazing pics btw! What lense did you use?

    • Isn’t it just! Bangkok really puts London to shame when it comes to these sort of events.
      I have a Nikon D5200 and just use a bog standard Nikon 50mm lens that I take just about everywhere with me.

      Thanks for stopping by x

      • Maybe if we see something similar in London we would think the city is in decay. But seeing it in Asia is exotic and worth thousands of pics 😀 Maybe Asians take photos of our markets ..

      • Touche. ☺ I can see your point there. For me, it just has a different vibe😁 which I’m currently infatuated with, maybe I’ll sing a different tune I’m a year or so…

      • I don’t think I would ever have enough of these sceneries 😀 I have hundreds of photos from Bangkok’s markets. And next time I will take even more👍🏻

Leave a Reply

