Thailand
Comments 2

A (Very Bangkokian) Fair | ArtboxBangkok

In the city of eternal summer, where the sun blissfully blazes at a predictable 32 degrees (plus or minus one or two degrees), I always seem to end up wandering into a fair of some sort. It’s been scientifically proven that, here in Bangkok, you’re never too far away from live music, food and endless shopping opportunities.

Artbox Makkasan1

 Bangkok is a dangerous place for the penny pincher; but I'm not complaining.

Artbox Makkasan3

My obsession with terrariums hasn't quite subsided.

My latest adventure was at Bangkok’s airport rail stop Makkasan, where the pop-up craze has been taken to all new heights at Artbox. It’s hard to believe that with the help of hay, shipping containers and fairy lights, this once neglected and disused stretch of land, adjacent to Makkasan airport rail link, could be magically transformed into a shoppers paradise.

Artbox Makkasan4

"One man's junk is another man's treasure".
But to a hoarder like me - everything is treasure.

What started as a singular pop-up event, has now since spawned ‘episodes’.
I can’t quite place my finger on what its meant to be, but this fair slash market cum art exhibition, has definitely got something for everyone.

Artbox Makkasan2

Yummy thai spicy clams! Although, be warned, they
are not for the faint hearted.

I hadn’t even realised that what was meant to be a ‘quick look’, ending up costing me three hours wandering through all the stalls, listening to the live music, and snacking my way around. Artbox is highly addictive. You have been warned.

DSC_0051

The clams weren't enough. I needed more.
Oysters anyone?

DSC_0046

Thai oysters are less salty than the European variety.
But they're juice and served with crispy shallots.
Oooooh yeah.

DSC_0040

You could imagine how thirsty I had become.
Luckily I discovered some tea... in a bottle.
What will they think of next?

DSC_0041

There was even a mojito tea!
I'm a tea coward, so I stuck to the golden oldies.

The next installment will be this weekend 7th – 9th August, 15:00 – 00:00 at Makkasan rail link station.

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

