All posts, Beauty and Style, Reviews
Leave a Comment

Relax, go slow and unwind: the stuff of legends at Myth House, Bangkok

Coming to Thailand and skipping out on having an authentic Thai massage, is like going to Italy and never trying gelato or pizza – it has to be done. Even for locals, knowing where to get a great massage, is up there with choosing the right dentist. But with so many options available in this bustling metropolis, how can a person find that perfect massage?

You know the one that I mean?

That ever so elusive, somewhat mystical, otherworldly touch. That magical feeling that not only soothes those aching and tired muscles, but also leaves an ineligible mark on your soul.
I’m in it for the serotonin.

Cue. Myth.

Myth, Bangkok - Front

Good things are always hidden in plain sight.

Located just an earshot away from the famous Wireless Road; it’s the perfect getaway for those looking for a few golden minutes of relaxation, rest and rejuvenation. Like the exposed brick façade and bedecked wooden interior, Myth is simple but chic.

As soon as you walk in, you'll find that the rest of the world just 
simply slips away; leaving nothing but you, your masseuse and those 
tricky knots that need smoothing out. 

Myth stairwell
This pint-sized oasis of calm boasts: a treatment suite, 
two western-styles treatment Rooms, a foot massage pavilion, 
a Thai treatment glasshouse and an astrology room.

When it comes to massages and scrubs, I really have to say that I’m a no frills kind of girl. I shy away from the pomp and pageantry of the whole ‘spa culture’. Don’t get me wrong, wasting an entire day, getting all preened and pruned, is a wonderful experience – every once in a while. But I really have to say that I’ve developed a bit of an allergy to the hype.

I want quality that’s time efficient. Is that really so much to ask for?

Myth Bed

Quick, clean and comfortable. That's the Myth way.


Not long after you enter, you realise just how meticulously and streamlined the whole experience is; there’s an attention to detail can cannot be overlooked and lying in one of their two Western treatment rooms, I knew I’d hit the jackpot on this one. With clear cut prices, and sessions starting at the twenty five minute mark, Myth is the kind of place that you can pop in an out, whenever you just need to recharge your batteries. There’s a lovely rooftop bar and I heard talk of a soon to opened cafe. But keep it a secret, because I want this place all to myself.

Myth Bathroom

If cleanliness is next to Godliness, then Myth is nirvana.

The rice scrub was gentle but exfoliating and my whole body beamed with that new skin glow. I followed up this with a lovely oil warm massage.
My lovely masseuse, Mung, worked her magic on my poor neglected carcass, bringing it to life with her knowledge of centuries old acupressure. For those aren’t aware (don’t worry I didn’t know this either), Thai massage is fusion of yoga and acupuncture. It is so highly valued because of the fact that it succinctly combines the two; so not only does it soothe weary muscles but it heals. Myth prides itself on using high quality essential oils and after my experience, I can see why. It’s opened my eyes to a new world of massage, and I daresay I can go back.
The warm oil melted in to my skin, leaving me soft, smooth, and lighter than air.
I’d be lying if I said that I was fully conscious for the entire time, but you know it’s good when you get up and you feel like you can fly. I tend to rank my experience on that floaty after effect – and this was off the charts.

I need to go back.

Sessions at Myth House (10330, 26 Soi Ruam Ruedi, Lumphini, 02-651-5600, siammyth.com) cost from 200B for a twenty five minute foot massage. An eighty minute massage with a jasmine rice scrub costs 1,800B approx. Male and female masseurs are available.

 

Leave a Reply

