Malaysia
Leave a Comment

Courting my taste buds | A light lunch at Chulia Court, Penang

Chulia Court  | 355, 357 & 359 Lebuh Chulia, Georgetown, Penang, Malaysia
Contact  | China House
Price  |
Main, dessert and a cocktail for 1 –  70 MYR approx

When visiting Penang, two things are certain:
– You can’t go to George Town and miss out Chulia (and by extension Love Lane).
– You can’t walk up and down the aforementioned streets and miss out Chulia Court (or Five27 as it’s now called).
With it’s olio of flavours, ingredients and influences; this restaurant is sure to impress anyone bold enough to step through its doors. Like everything else in Penang, it plays to the beat of its drum and makes a bold play on traditional and much loved Peranakan ingredients, but with a Eurocentric twist.

I went for lunch.

Confit Duck, Braised Young Jackfruit, Sweet Potato and Roasted Garlic Mousseline, Watercress, Nutmeg Relish

Poultry: Confit duck, braised young jackfruit, 
sweet potato and roasted garlic mousseline, watercress and nutmeg relish.

With a name like that. How could anyone compete?
Although only a page and a bit, the names of the dishes on the menu were quite lengthy. I’m always joking around with the fact that I’m a self-confessed ponce, but it took me a while to get through it; just trying to imagine what it would taste like.
So what did you think of it?
The duck was cooked to perfection. Crispy on the top, melt in your mouth, and fall of the bone; exactly as it should be. However (and this is my only little niggle), it was a tad bit on the salty side. I know that this is meant to balance the sweet creaminess of the mousseline. But in this case, less could have been more. I had to scan my brain for a criticism and that’s all I could come up with. Saying that, I did try my best not to lick the plate – so it was clearly negligible.
In good olde Hackney slang, “this dish was peng!”
Chulia Court is a bar slash restaurant slash guest house. With so many areas to cover, it’s no wonder why they do comfort like no other.

Cendol

Cendol: Coconut milk, shaved ice, palm sugar, 
kidney beans and little green colored rice flour worms.

I don’t know about you, but duck is the filler upper to end all filler uppers. I’ve never managed to get through a meal with duck as the main and crave more. So, I went with something light and refreshing.
Cendol is a great cooling roadside snack that I had become addicted to since I landed. Something about the kidney beans and the sweetness made me hate it but love it. The green worms put me off, but the delicious coconutty goodness welcome me back like a bipolar love off a telenovela.
Sitting all by my lonesome, with the great music crooning away in the background, spooning in the last few teaspoons of my Cendol, I have to say that, there, being alone wasn’t all that bad.

You know the food is good when you’ve got that floating feeling.


Don’t ask me how I got back to my room, but let’s just say that 3pm is too early to feel that sleepy.

Next time, I’ll come for dinner instead.

x

Leave a Reply

