All posts, Life
Comments 2

“…you can’t take the London out of the girl…” | Why I am addicted to my tea addiction

I recently starred in my first ever feature-length movie.

IMG_20150514_095856-2

Yay!
And by starred, what I really mean is, I drank in one large gulp, my three whole seconds of fame.
It was glorious.
There was a closeup, I had lines, a runner, and both the director and the star, Daniel Auteul, complimented me on my acting skills. For someone who grew up attending drama summer schools and camps, calling it an ego boost would certainly be an understatement.
I bathed in the glory of it all.
So what if I may never be the next Lupita Nyong’o, but on that day, with the camera on my face, everyone on set waiting on me; I was elation personified.
A girl can dream.

As soon as I got home, the first thing I did was to reach for the kettle; I made a beeline for the teabags.

DSC_0027 (2)

I take tea time like it’s a business. Scratch that, it’s a sport. Our national sport.
You have to know the players, understand the rules and take time to appreciate the camaraderie of it all.
It’s Britishness in a cup.
But I’ll be the first to admit that it’s a dying art-form, wasted on these starbuckers and their compulsive need to stick condiments into caffeinated beverages. Eugh.
I don’t hate coffee. I just like tea better. Much better.
How do I put it? Coffee is your younger teenage brother, who, after months of convincing and begging, finally condescends to pay you a visit, only to spend the entire time on his iphone. The end result never lives up to the name.
“Can I have a venti java chip frappuccino, 10 pumps of mocha, fifteen scoops of chips, no sugar and 5 splendas, please?”
So I run to tea.
Tea, is my Nanny Mabel, with her soft and delicate hands; wrinkled but strong. A bastion of patience, she’s kind, loving and always perfectly poised, usually with a treat in tow. And more importantly not a trace of technology in sight.

It’s my party, so it’s my analogy and I’m sticking to it.

I have been asked time and time again when and where this all began and to be honest I can’t quite pin down. But I tell you this, whenever there’s a major TV event, at the commercial break, power cuts have been known to occur in London; simply because everyone switched on the kettle at the same time and fried the circuits.

Tea is my boon, my love, tea is life.

And just like life, tea comes in all shapes and sizes; all manner of flavours. There’s warm tea, bitter tea, sweet, aromatic and dry. Teas that morph from their soft undertones, to a loud finish. From teas that flower and expand, to teas that change the color. There’s a cup for everyone.

I’m usually hooked at the first sip, fingers cupped around as if giving up each sip as an offering.
Oh yeah.
Did I mention I was a tea person?

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

