Beauty and Style, Reviews
Comment 1

On a lighter note | Hand made organic Thai soy wax candles

The Bangkok Art and Culture Centre is a treasure trove of various odd bits and pieces.
There’s certainly something for everyone. And by everyone, I actually mean someone as picky and as stubborn as, well, me!

I bought this candle a couple of weeks back out and I think I need another one.

I don’t know about you, but I get exhausted by the ‘same-ishness’ of everything.
When we talk about luxury candles, I’ve noticed that most people’s eyes glaze over and they unknowingly regurgitate the same brands. I liken it to something out of that classic children’s tv show, ‘The Demon Headmaster’. They seem to always come out with the same names: Dyptique, Yankee and Jo Malone; although not necessarily in that particular order.

And aren’t they great?

Well… Having worked at most of the luxury department stores in London, I’ll admit that they are. Yet, not quite the ‘be all and end all’ they’d have you believe.
Admittedly, there was a time I’d probably have gnawed my own hand off, just to get my hands on one.
They sure know how to create a hype.
There was a time, not so long ago, that I would save up my money and gingerly make my way to the counter, prize in one hand, staff discount card in the other, just so I could fork out the thirty odd quid for said candle; only to get home and be afraid to light it.
I was that girl.
But I’ll be upfront and admit my value system has really taking a spin in the washing machine of life. It sounds silly but even though most people say, “expensive doesn’t always me better”.
How many people actually believe
Here in Thailand, There seems to be an endless slew of Starbucks and H&M’s. Stores are in a mad rush to re-brand themselves for a more luxurious market. It’s as if the likes of Bond street and Sloan Square is being transported to me. So if I stepped away from the usual suspects, their business would hardly crumble. However, I’m not sure if the same can be said for Thai home grown brands like Khumpa Chompu.

I won’t go making claims that might come back to haunt me, but this product is amazing.
Unlike the juggernaut brands, they use soy wax, a non-toxic and environmentally friendly option that also gives it a ludicrously long burning time.
Did I mention it was only 300 thai baht?
You get roughly about 30 hours of burning time, for only 6 quid.
Hmmm.
The sales clerk was friendly and was insistent that this would be (his words, not mine) the best candle I have ever tried. He might have been right.
入乡随俗  – when in Rome… blah blah
The fragrance is not overpowering but it is consistent and that’s what I look for. I chose jasmine, which sometimes can be so overpowering it get’s sickening.

Try it for yourself and tell me what you think?

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

