Beauty and Style
Leave a Comment

“Eastern Treats” | A taste of the crème de la crème of Thai perfumery

It seems a world away, when I was working at one of London’s most iconic stores, Liberty.
To this day, it is still one of my favorite places to be.
The bustling counter of La Labo was just an eyeshot away, so its not hard to see how: surrounded by pure unadulterated luxury, sophistication and class; I used to wonder what it would be like to have my very own bespoke scent.

It is very rare for me to find a perfume that fits.
Not only am I extremely choosy, but I guess you could say that I am old school, in the sense that I believe that fragrances should be personal. I never quite understood how or why people would choose to wear some of the concoctions out there, just because it was a famous brand or endorsed by a particular celebrity. That, and I find that many fragrances disagree with my skin, resulting in a rash or a lingering acetic smell.

Cue – Erb.
Thailand’s Erb is a luxury brand that was started by one of the nation’s leading fashion designer, Pattree Bhakdibutr. With products that have names like, ‘Eastern Treat’, and ‘Princess Pa’, these fragrances are certainly non-conformists. They are not trying to be Penhaligons, Chanel or any of the other ‘brand names’; they exist for those who truly appreciate authentic Thai fragrances, like those enjoyed by the Siamese courtiers in times long gone.
The fragrances utilize the very best of what Thailand has to offer; mixing and blending choice herbs and essences.
The boutique, located in Thonglor 12, is the epitome of chic. With its checkered interior and adjoining spa, you are immediately transported by the 20’s style interior, into a world of total luxury. I hate to make comparisons but I was instantly reminded of Liberty. 

I didn’t actually choose this fragrance.
The German did. It was a secret gift he had pre-ordered for me. So imagine my surprise when after I was handed my gift bag,  I found this:

eeed

Jasmine is often artificial, which leads it to smell like detergent on my skin. So as soon as I read the contents, I began to secretly panic.
The scent is subtle but strong, suggestively sweet and floral. My concerns vanished as soon as it hit my skin. I can only liken it to: “…stepping into a forest filled with jasmine trees; the woody humidity clinging to your nostrils, mingled with the smell of freshly opened flowers…”
It evokes a powdery and fresh texture, that ever since I’ve put it on, I haven’t stopped occasionally lifting my hand to smell.
I am intoxicated with it.

It has been close to a decade since the thought of having a bespoke fragrance ever crossed my teenage mind, and it is everything I have ever wanted.
Good things come to those who wait.

I was also given a bottle of the ‘Eastern Treat’ shower gel, which is already a staple of mine.
It leaves your skin soft, bubbles beautifully and smells like a freshly gathered bouquet. For those looking for gift ideas this coming Valentines Day, you know where to find it.
Erb.

Leave a Reply

