All posts, Thailand
Leave a Comment

“Hunger Games”

I don’t know what possessed me to check, but now that I know it cannot be undone.

To put it simply, this:

Is the enemy.

All these years, what a fool I have been.
Before I went to see the Hunger Games: Mockingjay, a movie that I can only describe as  cripplingly melodramatic, I decided to check the amount of calories in my cinema popcorn.
Cinema popcorn is overpriced and usually over-sized. But man is it good!
Sticky but not soggy. How do they do it?
I go about twice a year, so till now, I never gave two thoughts to it. I’ve always knew it wasn’t healthy or good for you, but I never knew just how bad it could be. Its popcorn. It should be called ingredients-list-as-long-as-my-arm-but-with-popped-corn-kernals.

Before I get really into this rant, I just want to say that I’m not trying to lose weight. But, as someone who suffers from anemia, I decided to record my calorie intake, to see what could be improved in my diet. I’ve been using cronometer. It is a great website that breaks down not just the calories, but also the nutritional input of foods, and has proved invaluable so far.

So there’s me, putting the details of my popcorn in and I find out that my sweet caramel popcorn (large bucket of course, go hard or go home right?), can have as much as 4,000 calories!
Why oh why did I check?!

At first I didn’t know what to believe, but after checking through the nutritional information on the cinema’s actual website, I had to finally admit the cruel cruel reality.

How could they?

Imagine 123 minutes, watching Katniss cry and cry (and then some)? The smell of popcorn taunting my nostrils, the crunch made by some other lucky oblivious popcorn eating sod, breaking the silence in between her wailing and long glances…
Both the movie and the lack of my kernalled pal, was torture.

My Hunger Games.

Leave a Reply

