All posts, Cooking
Comments 2

What the oeufs wrong with you?

Get it?
That’s what three years of French gets you.

Its October, a blistering 34 degrees and I’m getting a little home sick.
October is not only my birthday month but when I get cracking on picking my winter coat, buying tights and all my usual thermal undergarb (mostly from Uniqlo).
I’m not doing any of that and its just downright strange.
“But you’re in a tropical paradise! Shut up”, says the constant contradictory voice in my head.
“Nobody likes a moaner”.

To get me out of my tiny funk, I’ve decided to dream up places I’d be visiting insead and imagine all the tasty dishes I’d be sampling.

Numero Uno.
Paris, France.
I won’t bore you with the usual tripe of how its enchanting and romantic.
That’s what they all say.
To be honest my first memories of visiting France were as a child. You really have to be into romance to get all worked up about it. And I wasn’t. No sir, not icky boys. Except for if you count my bizarre crush on the dashing Tuxedo Mask from Sailor Moon.

Where was I? Oh yes. France
French cuisine.
Since as far back as I can remember, my most poignant memories have been tied to food. Neither happy nor sad memories, can survive the test of time (in my head), if they are not food related.
I still remember my first ever oeufs en cocotte, or my dear aunt Pesche’s nicoise salad.
I think everybody should go through a phase when they are hooked on French food.

Here’s a good place to start:

Simple Salmon and Chives Oeufs en Cocotte

I’ll be putting the video of me making this on my new youtube channel, so why don’t you drop by and have a look.

dsc_0721
[I’ve taken to watermarking my pictures since I’ve already found one plagiarizer. Grrr]

You will need:

100g crème fraîche (I can’t get this easily here so I made my own using this recipe: SmittenKitchen)
salt and freshly ground black pepper
pinch of smoked paprika
handful of chopped chives
20g sliced smoked salmon
2 free-range eggs

2 ramekins, or ovensafe dishes.

Directions: [Très Simple]
1. Preheat your oven to 180C/350F/Gas 4.
2. Pour 1/3 of the cream into your ramekin.
3. Sprinkle your salt, pepper and paprika.
4. Crack your egg into the bowl (but do not mix).
5. Pour the left over cream on top.
6. [For the improvised Bain Marie] Place the ramekins/bowls in a baking dish and pour enough lukewarm water into the dish to come halfway up the sides. This will allow for an evenly cooked egg.
7. Bake for a 15 – 20 minutes, or till the eggs are to your liking. I like mine well done.
8. Sprinkle with your chopped chives and smoked salmon.

I’ve branched out into the world of youtube, so feel free to have a look:

Enjoy x

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

